Any questions you have before you begin buying, building and installing.
I'm a total newbie to ECUs although I have been involved in consumer electronics/I.T for most my life.
Can someone please explain to me just how it can be that firing two injectors does not waste fuel? I just don't get it.
Thanks,
MosFetMan
Even on sequential, the injector is firing at the closed valve most of the time except at idle. Especially in a big block tunnel application like yours, there isn't enough valve open time to inject all the fuel. Pairing them only hurts low rpm emissions, like below 1000 rpm or so.
Even low-speed operation can be nearly-as or as-efficient with paired injectors, when firing twice per-cycle, known as double-shot or quasi-sequential. This mode fires half the fuel on each injection. Timing is as-accurate as full sequential, and timed the same as sequential (peak efficiency timing).

Rumor: Sequential fueling injects during an open valve. This is (mostly) incorrect, and there is an assumption or rumor on the internet that it fuels this way. The vast majority of systems, and especially newest OEM systems, purposely inject on closed valves for improved vaporization and fuel distribution. The strongest effect is fuel dwell. At higher speeds and loads they may inject on an open valve, but only as a result of shorter time and greater fuel requirement, not intentionally. Speeduino is easy to tune for best timing using data feedback.