For any add-on boards such as VR conditioners, optos and OEM interface boards
By Izzy46
Hi D-Stage!!

Thank you so much for your amazing ETC. I'm currently using it to restore a 2005 Mastercraft. I have the controller functioning well in regards to opening and closing the throttle body. Unfortunately I can't get the D-Stage IAC to respond to Speedy.

I'm new to electronics so please bear with me with my experiments and descriptions of the problem :)

This is the throttle body I'm using. As you can see idle is controller by the butterfly rather than a valve.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B071S ... UTF8&psc=1

So far I've connected an Uno to the IAC pad and simulated a PWM signal of 50% at 490 Hz, this results in the butterfly opening a few degrees. (this seems good)

I've checked the Speedy circuit when powered up using the following diagram.
Screen Shot 2023-03-29 at 5.24.01 PM.png
Screen Shot 2023-03-29 at 5.24.01 PM.png (34.68 KiB) Viewed 3136 times
image.png
I get the following voltages:
MCU-D5 = 2.5v
R43 = 2.5v
R47 = 2.5v
HVM NMOS leg number 2 = 2.5v
IDLE OUT shows no voltage.

On my Mastercraft thread PSIG has suggested the following:
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=5532&p=62146#p62146

"As Idle-Out is simply a grounding circuit, that also indicates that the device (ETC in this case) should have a 5V pullup, either internally or added into the circuit. This would function as 5V signal, grounded in pulses by Speeduino to create a 0V-5V signal to the ETC.

If all of that is making sense, when the ETC is powered-up, it should show 5V on its idle input, waiting to be grounded. If it does not, and all of this is confirmed by D-Stage, then it's either not enabled, or you need to add the 5V pullup. Again, I would verify with D-Stage."

I've checked the IAC pad on the ETC and it reads 0v.

At this point I'm a little beyond the limits of my understanding. Do you have any suggestions for next possible steps from here....?