For anything related to the 'official' Speeduino boards (Eg v0.3, v0.4 etc)
By infernozx
I did search, and maybe I'm not using the right search terms, but I didn't find anything. So:

Are the specific types of components vital to the operation of the board?

By that I mean, the BOM specs specific parts, and specific manufacturers. I've read a little about what sets these parts apart from others, but I'm still fairly new to the building an ECU game.

For example, the BOM specs (on a v0.4.3):

"CAP CER 0.22UF 50V 10% RADIAL"

Then it has a Kemet part number, and information. Was this just done because that's what DigiKey stocks? Or is there a more specific reason?

The volts seem really high (50v) there should be no reason for anything in an ECU to need much over 15v? Or am I missing something?

My big question I suppose is, "Can I use any 0.22UF Radial cap?"

I'm trying to see if I can lower my barrier to entry here. The parts list makes up a significant portion of the cost of entry. (We have $15 Megas, and $12 boards, but then the parts list runs you up into the $80-100 range.) I know a lot of stuff can be sourced from China for cheaper, but sometimes they don't have these specific parts, or even exact clones.

Before someone gets on the "Buy quality american parts, its your car!" thing, that's all well and good, but I'd like to try to lower the barrier to entry as I said, and some people are willing to deal with getting the odd resistor that they need to replace in exchange for saving themselves $30-40.