Help with building your Speeduino, installing it, getting it to run etc.
By Billboswaggins
Hi, I have a 1988 porsche 944 turbo. I'm having trouble starting/running at idle. I am a complete beginner so everything I have done for my config has been adapting settings from other tunes of similar cars since I couldn't find a base tune (I don't think one exists). I've mostly been referencing this thread although it is for a megasquirt. https://rennlist.com/forums/924-931-944 ... eloading=1

The car will catch but backfire randomly, although I haven't run it long, like 2-3 seconds in fear of jumping timing.
I have verified with a timing light the cranking angle is roughly correct at 70. It should be 69 or 68 but I haven't messed with it yet.

What settings would most likely make the engine backfire?

The gamma enrichment goes to 300% to 500% but i'm not sure how much is acceptable while starting.

Any input is greatly appreciated.
Attachments
(18.6 KiB) Downloaded 132 times
(78.35 KiB) Downloaded 141 times
Yes my bad, the trigger wheel offset angle is at 70*

No I didn't use the speedyloader tune. To be honest I didn't notice it was a generic base tune, I must of overread it or something. Ill start referencing it on things I guesstimated. The tune I uploaded was really for starting and idling, getting it to more under its own power. Things like the injector close angles and IAT retard I didn't want to mess with.
Best thing you can do is start again.

The base tune set's up things so that they are not just "255" or other weird values which can cause funny things to happen.

So wipe your mega using EEPROM clear in the Arduino IDE. Load the firmware again, then load the Speeduino base tune.

They do your changes by hand and go through every single setting and make sure if it's not something you use to disable it.