Help with building your Speeduino, installing it, getting it to run etc.
By sawboss
Hi everyone,

This is the place that was made for me, I am so excited to come across the speeduino community.
Little Background
I am a newbie to the speeduino world, but I have assembled few megasquirt projects in the past, plus a software developer by profession, so I couldn't contain myself seeing the coding live stream session on youtube, cant wait to learn and get my hands on coding as well as assembling

TYSON project

It is a 1994 Mazda Familia 323 hatchback body with a 2.0 Ltr Mazda FE3N (4 cylinder engine) from the Mazda Mx6 coupe.
The plan is to firstly get the engine running properly on a standalone ECU (almost bought the megasquirt 3) and then turbo it at a later date.

As it relates to the Speeduino I want to buy only bear bone boards etc (and assemble myself), so far i leaning towards V0.4 version of the board, but I also see UA4C boards as well and a bit undecided which option to go (what's the advantage of either).
By Broke4speed
Ultimately, all Speeduino-compatible boards run the exact same firmware. The hardware differs depending on the creator's design. The 0.4 boards are 'official' and are DIY-able, whereas the UA4C is a product of WTMTronics, which comes 99% assembled and built out of surface-mount components to decrease the size. If you want to build it yourself, the 0.4.3 or 0.4.4 (some SMD components) is for you.

The original Speeduino boards are the 0.3 and 0.4 versions, and everything else you see out there are designs created by end-users for the community :). It all depends on what you want to get out of your Speeduino project. I started with building 0.4 boards and migrated to a pre-built unit (DIY-EFI.co.uk CORE4 board) because I wanted to make something that matched the design I had in my head. That's the beauty of Speeduino, it is completely up to you to turn it into what you want it to be. No (well, a minor few) rules :).
By sawboss