Any questions you have before you begin buying, building and installing.
By Plus6g
Hello All, advice required!

I have an experimental air cooled 9 cylinder radial engine (3600rpm max) which I would like to modify with the addition of a centrifugal supercharger.

In order to better control the fuel and ignition timing I would like to upgrade the ignition and fuel delivery.

At the moment the engine has dual distributors with fixed timing (2 spark plugs per cylinder) using a Hall effect sensor located in each distributor running an ignitor and coil for both distributors.

Fuel at the moment is via a very basic carburettor.

TIM018 - Ignition Modules | Tridon

Bosch Ignition Coil 0 980 AG0 700 | Sparesbox

The initial idea is to utilise 2 x NO2C Speeduino units each with its own power supply and sensor inputs to retain some redundancy.

The Distributors would remain but I would like to run the ignition through the ECU so that I have a degree of timing adjustment available. (Triggered by the existing hall effect units ) The engine has a 3:2 drive reduction unit, obtaining a crankshaft speed trigger would be challenging.

Fuelling will be by single point injection and a throttle body, (actually 2 injectors, one for each ecu but with a switchable live to each injector so that only one is running at a time for redundancy purposes).

My initial research would suggest that this should work.

Small niggle though.

The ecu is listed as capable of supporting 4 cylinders, of course I have 9! Presumably this restriction is when using crank triggering and individual coil on plug / cylinder injection?

In my case the ignition timing is already sequenced by the hall effect trigger wheels and fuel injection will just piggy back off this signal (Fuel injection timing is not critical)

Before I get too deep in trying to figure out how this could be set up in the software ( and how many cylinders I need to specify in the basic setup), can anyone confirm that my idea is possible?