For anything you'd like to see added to Speeduino
By ralfs.volis
Hello, Im newbie here, just built my own Speeduino and it runs great so far.
I think knock sensor would be awesome option - tuning your engine and knowing if it`s gonna detonate/knock, Speeduino could retard the spark and that would eliminate knock. Just for safety. Keep it up with the good work, very appreciated.
By cx500tc
ralfs.volis wrote:Hello, Im newbie here, just built my own Speeduino and it runs great so far.
I think knock sensor would be awesome option - tuning your engine and knowing if it`s gonna detonate/knock, Speeduino could retard the spark and that would eliminate knock. Just for safety. Keep it up with the good work, very appreciated.
Welcome!

Knock sensing is a big bag of worms. <- my opinion

If you are encountering knock, that is a problem, I agree. But that also suggests there is something wrong with the tune, too... like you have too much ignition advance tuned in, or not enough fuel. Could also be a result of an engine in need of repair.

How Speeduino would sense and adapt to engine knock is a whole other ball of wax, so to speak. So please provide your ideas about how to do that.
:)
By ralfs.volis
Thanks, cx500tc! :)
Agreed.
I have friend of mine who roadtunes cars(MS equipped) with the headphones(connected to knock thru diy amp) and of course WB o2, and he have pretty great results(2.0 vw homebuilt turbo engine ~300whp, stock internals with cr-8.5:1 on a pump gas).
So basically knock sensor is a microphone. Hardwarely it would need amp to amplify signal going in to the arduino.
Softwarely - some kind of filter in software, where you can filter out normal running engine from when it detonates.
And if we could monitor the knock, we could run more aggressive tune, and like I said before, if it knocks - timing is retarded to not blow up the engine.
By klotzy_550
ralfs.volis wrote:Thanks, cx500tc! :)
Agreed.