New wiki and manual has launched! Check it out at http://wiki.speeduino.com
Any questions you have before you begin buying, building and installing.
Hi, Newbie here. I am considering speeduino based efi (fuel & ignition) for my Ford cvh XR2 engine in a kit car. Currently it is NA using Weber twin choke carb and the standard electronic breakerless distributor ignition (Bosch I think).

I have had a quick look thru the docs but am slightly confused by the setup/requirements of 2nd rotational sensor (phase) to run sequential. There are references to custom missing tooth timing wheels, modified distributors and single pulse triggers (1/2 moon).

I can fit a 36-1 crankshaft pulley/trigger wheel easily for crank position sensing. The distributor uses a hall sensor which I guess gives 4 pulses (4 cyl engine) per revolution of distributor rotor. So question is to be able to detect phase/sync in speeduino what distributor output do I need and best way to achieve?

Thanks
Hi, and welcome

With just a missing tooth trigger wheel on the crank only, you can achieve wasted spark and 2 squirts per cycle.

To achieve sequential, ie 1 spark and 1 squirt per cycle, speedy needs to know which of the 2 revolutions in the cycle the engine is on.

So all the phase signal needs to do, is basically say this is this revolution of the cycle.

So all you really need is to detect something at cam speed, once in the cycle.

Its sometimes easier to thing of it as a one cylinder engine.
@LPG2CV
I realise I could run batch with just a missing tooth crank wheel but for various reasons I would like to go sequential.

As you say logically I would have expected a single pulse/signal from cam/distributor sensor to be sufficient to correctly sync phase for sequential. However looking thru Trigger Patterns & Decoders section of manual nothing seems to fit the bill.

Missing Tooth (cam) - quote from manual